Both DC motors and AC motors are the types of motors we usually use.

DC-powered motors are DC motors, and AC-powered motors are AC motors. What is the difference in their structures?

First of all, we have to mention two professional terms, rotor and stator.

The rotor is the part that rotates and is usually attached to the drive structure, while the stator is the non-moving part that is attached to a stable structure.

For DC motors, it can be divided into brushed DC motors and DC brushless motors according to the type of steering gear.

Among them, the stator of the brushed DC motor is a permanent magnet, and the rotor is a winding metal armature, which is commutated by carbon brushes and a commutator.

The stator of the brushless DC motor is a winding coil, and the rotor is a permanent magnet, and the magnetic field steering is controlled by an electronic steering gear.

AC motors can be divided into synchronous AC motors and asynchronous AC motors.
The stator of the synchronous AC motor is a winding coil, the rotor is a permanent magnet, and the rotor and stator magnetic fields rotate synchronously.

An asynchronous AC motor is also called an induction motor. Its stator is also a winding coil, but the rotor itself has no magnetism and is not a permanent magnet. It needs to induce the magnetic field of the stator to have magnetic force. The rotor starts later than the rotation of the stator magnetic field, so it is called asynchronous.

Can you now distinguish the construction of these common DC motors from AC motors?

Thanks for reading.

Looking for a Expandable PLC for your next project ? Click to learn more!